Rest assured, you won’t be snitched if you take a screenshot of a Story or a profile, or even screen-record something you saw on Instagram. But beware: although the platform does not notify the user if someone has taken a screenshot of its contents, it does warn if a screenshot was taken of a photo, video or self-destructive message that he sent by DM.
What does DM mean?
DM is short for Direct Message, a feature of Instagram that allows its users to chat privately. By opening the platform and clicking on the chat icon, you have access to all your “DMs” – or conversations, if you prefer to call them – in which you can send messages, photos, videos and audios directly to other profiles, in a way that particular.
How to know who took a screenshot on Instagram?
When you send a message, photo or video in the DM’s temporary mode – a mode that can be activated in a private social media conversation and in which the sent content disappears when you close the chat – Instagram will give you away if the other person takes a screenshot of the chat.
The warning appears instantly, in the conversation itself, and reports that the other person took a screenshot of what was sent.
If the screenshot was taken from a message sent or a photo or video shared from your gallery, the notice will appear in text format, as follows:
If, however, the print was made from a photo or video recorded at the time of the conversation, the warning appears as a symbol next to the photo, as shown in the image below:
How to send self-destructive messages?
For send self-destructive content– that is, content that is not registered in private conversations, disappearing for everyone who is in the chat soon after the chat is closed -, it is necessary to activate the temporary DM mode.
To do this, in the chat in question, it is necessary to drag the screen up. After doing this, the screen will go into dark mode and a warning will appear saying that you are now in “Temporary Mode”. After the conversation, to return the chat to normal, drag the screen up again.
How to send a self-destructive photo or video?
To send a self-destructive photo or video via DM, follow the steps below:
- Open Instagram and go to the profile of the person you want to send the self-destructive photo or video to;
- Tap the “Message” button to open the chat;
- On the conversation screen, swipe up to activate the temporary DM mode;
- Notice that a warning will appear at the top of the screen that you are in “Temporary Mode”;
- If you want to send a photo or video that is already in your gallery, tap the image icon located in the bottom bar of messages;
- Select the chosen photo or video and tap “Send”;
- If you want to take a photo or video during the conversation, tap the camera icon, located at the far left of the message bar;
- Take the photo or record what you want and tap “Send”;
- Ready, the image or recording will appear in the chat and can be viewed by the other person. Both you and her, after leaving the conversation, will no longer be able to view anything that was sent in that chat;
- To deactivate the temporary chat mode, swipe up again, returning to normal DM mode.
Yes, both the sender and receiver of the photo will no longer be able to see it once they leave the chat.
No, Instagram does not tell you which users have visited your profile. However, if you have a business account, you can natively discover how many people viewed your profile.
No, there is still no tool on the social network that will rat out a person if they have shared a photo from your feed with someone. However, if you have a business account, you can at least find out how many people have shared your photo.
Yes, it is possible to download as much videos how much Instagram photos via computer or cell phone. You can even download photos and videos from Instagram Stories on your PC.